Administration:

100 Kenneth Avenue
Greenlawn, NY 11740-2900
(631) 266-5400

Administration Philosophy:

The Elwood School District subscribes to the basic goals for the elementary and secondary schools approved by the Regents of the State of New York, namely:

  • Mastery of the basic skills of communication, reasoning, and critical thinking essential to live a full and productive life.
  • Knowledge of the humanities and the sciences at a level required to participate in an ever more complex world.
  • Competence in a second language.
  • Understanding of the process of effective citizenship in order to participate and to perform work in a manner that is gratifying to the individual and to those served.
  • Ability to sustain lifetime learning in order to adapt to the new demands, opportunities, and values of a changing world.
  • Ability to maintain one’s mental, physical, and emotional health.
  • Understanding of human relations – respect for and ability to relate to other people in our own and other nations – including those of different sex, origins, cultures, and aspirations.
  • Competence in the processes of developing values – particularly the formation of spiritual, ethical, and moral values, which are essential to individual dignity and human civilization.
  • Knowledge and appreciation of our culture and capacity for creativity, recreation, and self-renewal.
  • Knowledge of the environment, problems and threats to the environment, and relationship between our own acts and the quality of the environment.
  • Fostering the concept of student responsibility to themselves, to the educational processes and society.


Mr. Peter C. Scordo
Superintendent of Schools
superintendent@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 402
Human Resources
(631) 266-5400 x 403

Dr. Gary Furman
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction
gfurman@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 222

Mrs. Keri Loughlin
Assistant Superintendent for Business
kloughlin@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 404

Mr. Gene Tranchino
Exec. Director for Administrative & Instructional Technology/Transportation
gtranchino@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 283

Ms. Dianne Wilkinson
Exec. Director of Special Education
dwilkinson@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 437

Ms. Pamela Fine
Director of Humanities
pfine@elwood.k12.ny.us

Ms. Eileen Kelly-Gorman
Director of Math, Science and Technology
ekelly@elwood.k12.ny.us

 

Mr. John McDonald
Plant Facilities Administrator
jmcdonald@elwood.k12.ny.us
631-266-5400 x426


Mr. Louis Tuorto

Director of Athletics
ltuorto@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5417

Mrs. Delia Neitzel
Food Services Director
dneitzel@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 442

Nancy Mancini
District Clerk
nmancini@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5400 x 453

Elwood John H. Glenn High School
Dr. James Ruck
Interim Principal, High School
jruck@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5410

Mr. Leroy Cole
Assistant Principal, High School
lcole@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5410

Carisa Burzynski
Assistant Principal, High School
cburzynski@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5410

Elwood Middle School
Dr. Hugh M. Gigante
Principal, Elwood Middle School
hgigante@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5420

Mrs. Dawn Valle
Assistant Principal, Elwood Middle School
dvalle@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5420

James H. Boyd Intermediate School
Denise Toscano
Principal, James H. Boyd Intermediate School
dtoscano@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5430

Harley Avenue Primary School
Mrs. Elissa Toubin
Principal, Harley Avenue Primary School
etoubin@elwood.k12.ny.us
(631) 266-5445







 

 

Elwood Union Free School District
Saturday, October 25, 2014